More about Scully

sunset-105143_150

Dawn

I am NOT a morning person, but I love the morning hours.  I’ve learned happiness is a choice.  Futhermore, happiness is only obtainable when it is sought out in the process of giving love.  Music is an undying passion that I will never escape.  There is no such thing as a grown up, because we are always growing up.  I never want to stop learning.  I don’t regret anything that I’ve ever done, because I believe everything is permitted by, or planned by Christ.  Each person’s life events shape who they become.  Because my hope lies in the truth that I am becoming the woman Christ is shaping me to be, I will always live without regret and I refuse to bow down to the power of fear, regret, and doubt.   Strength is not found in a person who pushes all feelings aside and ignoring them.  Strength, is meeting those feeling head on, and conquering them.  You own your feelings, not the otherway around.   I’m an incredibly strong person but only because I’ve dealt with every difficulty I’ve encountered in my life by learning from it, and by seeking Christ’s purpose for whatever it is that is happening to me.   HE does all things for the good of those who love him.   Glorifying Christ and endeavoring to become a Proverbs 31 woman are my life’s goals.

Zooey Deschanel photo credit: sheknows.co.uk

Zooey Deschanel photo credit: sheknows.co.uk

I have a completely different perspective on life than most.  I’ve finally learned to stop worrying.  Chocolate, sunshine, Texas, good iced coffee, traveling, sleeping in, comfy pants, sweat shirts, milk shakes, sushi, The CW, stand up comedy, the Texas Rangers, Dallas Cowboys, boots, worn-in flip flops, Zooey Deschanel, Sam and Dean Winchester(yep!), queso, spinach-artichoke dip, white rice with ponzu sauce, road trips spent traveling through farm towns, a new novel, playlists of music that last for days, SINGING, chipotle and a billion other little things are some of the small things in life that, regardless of the current state my beautifully messy life is in, have the ability to bring me joy.

2012-12-25 19.04.16

Deuce

I bought my dog, Deuce, in November of 2005.  He was 8 weeks old, and my best little buddy.  I’ve taken him all over the country with me.  He’s my sidekick, very special companion, and my miniature rock star.  I love him in the way only other dog lovers understand. ***We’ve since added two more sweet pups! Click here to see a photo of our bulldog Ruby and our terrier mix Rosoce.

 

 

My mom and dad have had more positive influence on my life than I will ever fully comprehend.  I’ve found myself finally understanding why my step-mom acted how she did, and I realize how much like her I am.  Thank you, Deena, for everything and then some.  My Daddy, Bret Scullion, was a legacy and influenced people around the world and saved their souls for Christ.  He is my role model, and I know he is in Heaven smiling down on this tiny world that he helped to make a better place.  His love for people was unlimited and unmeasurable.  My Mommy, Debbie Trahan, (Yes, I call her Mommy, and will as long as I’m breathing) is the sweetest, most caring person I’ve ever known and I wish she knew what a beautiful soul she has.  Her heart is huge and I thank her for showing me how to love so deeply.  My children are astounding.  I can watch them for hours, and be continuously in awe.  My gorgeous sister, Kristin, is one of the most underestimated people I know.  She is determined and driven.  She has been through hell and back and has come out a bigger, stronger person on the other side.  She is a person who will look you in eye and tell you when you are being a complete idiot and making a huge mistake.  All of that comes from the heart because she loves you, no matter how much it hurts her.  Kristin Virginia, you have been by my side for every single childhood, teenage, and college heartache and heartbreak, and I love you with all my heart and I miss you beyond measure.

cross-66700_640Women of God, who truly love Jesus with all of their heart are soul-deep beautiful and intensely strong women that I have an extrordinary amount of admiration for and look up to.  True love (although our feeble human minds and hearts don’t grasp it’s real definition) is the most overwhelming, astonishing, painful, beautiful, and fulfilling emotion that the human heart can manifest.  You should marry someone you want to spend your life loving and giving to.  Someone who you love to play with and laugh with.  Someone you want to fight for and fight with.  Choose to journey through life with the person you most love to be silly with and clean up after.   Marriage is about how much can you give, not how much can be given to you.  If you’re thinking about what you aren’t getting in your marriage, try giving back instead.  Even if it is the last drop you have left in you, give it as well.  I promise, if you pray with and for them, and give them EVERYTHING….yes, even that thing you just thought of, you will find a fulfilling marriage that will replenish, uplift, and strengthen you and your spouse.

tumblr_li8qf2Nw9a1qaiw7co1_400_large

Music and Books..ahhh

It amazes me how easily people miss the small things in life that are the most beautiful. I wish more people understood that how you were raised effects how you start off but doesn’t determine who you become.  I can be more high maintanence than I know.  Music, reading, and writing are my favorite hobbies.  I can be irritable and overly sensitive, but love with more passion than you knew possible.  I fall in love with my real friends so much that at times I feel my heart could burst and will stand up for them and fight for them without question.  I’ve finally found the feeling of being home for the first time since I graduated high school in May of 2003.  It’s not in a place at all.  It’s with my husband and 4 beautiful children.  God blessed and entrusted to me an amazing man and these sweet little ones, and I know from the depth of my soul that this is where I’m meant to be.  I’m overly ambitious and it gets me in over my head and stressed.  I have to lean on God’s direction, prayerfully be still and listen to him EVERY day.  I want be a doctor, a lawyer, a missionary, a dancer, an artist, a writer and a famous singer, all while staying at home with my children.  It turns out, a mom is all of those things.  As a mom I also get to dabble in the jobs of a referee, judge, nurse, cook, driver, teacher, and thousands of other job titles I will learn along the way.  I want to see the world doing missionary work, but I also want to stay home for the rest of my life raising my children. I want to be ridiculously successful but not at the expense of mine or my family’s happiness.  I’m incredibly skeptical, but have an unwavering faith in God.  I appreciate every heartache I’ve ever endured.  I’ve found that it is near impossible for human beings to accurately describe true love; it is beyond me to even try to explain with words how wonderful it is, because pen and paper could never do it justice.  I have the tendency to forgive easily and not give up on people, and thus give them more chances than they typically deserve.  People can change but only for themselves, and not for anyone or anything shy of Jesus Christ himself.  Most folks who tell you they want you to be honest don’t truly mean it.  That’s too bad, because I’m pretty blunt!  I feel misunderstood by most, and constantly find my friends looking to me for advice.  I don’t call many people “friend” these days, but I wish that I could.  I don’t quit things I truly care about even when it seems that I have.  I work hard to be in a constant state of self-improvement, and feel it’s finally paying off.  Smiling at people has gotten me further in life than I expected.  No man, or woman can define who I am…that’s God’s job.

I never want to feel obligated to a person I’m in a relationship (of whatever kind) with, or feel that I am in an unhealthy state of dependance to them.  I am crazy in love with my husband, and fall in love all over again everyday.  He is astounding and an absolutely beautiful disaster.  He has all of me and always will.  He is my best friend and partner in crime.

574621_452699838134164_875575815_n

Me and my honey spring 2013

Divorce is not a word to me, and I think if people didn’t consider divorce an option they would try harder and lean on Jesus more.  I wish men had more respect for women and that they knew how to recognize a good thing when they have it.  Love and relationships aren’t easy and people quit on them before they really try. As cliche as this sounds, life is too short to be anything but happy.

Quotes to tie it all together:
“Act happy, feel happy, be happy, without a reason in the world. Then you can love, and do what you will.” -Dan Millman

“All love that has not friendship for it’s base, is like a mansion built upon sand.” -Ella Wheeler Wilcox

“A kiss is a lovely trick designed by nature to stop speech when words become superfluous.”-Ingrid Bergman

582498_808240199947_1097362014_n

Date Night…once a year! December 2012

About my journey through marriage thus far:
The past 6 years have been some of the most treasured and precious times in my life.  I’ve grown in ways I never thought I could or would as a person.  On July 2, 2007, I met my future best friend, husband, and father of my children.  On December 22, 2007 we were married in a ceremony with just the two of us.  It was the single most important event that had ever happened to me at that time.  (I admit that I grew up as a person who wanted that huge princess-style wedding day, but once I met the man I would eventually share forever with, all of those desires faded and became trivial.  We still look forward to renewing our vows in the future by having a ceremony surrounded by our family and friends. One that focuses on celebrating each other and the life we have created together.)  After that day, life followed with becoming a step-mom of two beautiful girls, giving birth to our first born child, Payton- in 2008, the birth of our son, Joshua- in 2011, many jobs, different homes, 100+ Dallas Cowboy games shared, many seasons of Texas Rangers baseball, too late nights filled with hours of Netflix marathoning, millions of cherished moments, struggles, joys and hobbies shared.  He helped me heal from the loss of my father, and showed me how to love myself even when I didn’t even realize I wasn’t doing so.  Life hasn’t always been easy, but every difficulty has grown us closer and stronger.  He held my hand and walked the path of becoming closer with Jesus, and together we’ve made Jesus our focus and purpose.  Jesus is the tip of our “equilateral” triangle.  Parenting with him is an absolute joy, and raising our children together is this fantastic challenge that we relish working through and enjoying side-by-side.  This man, is the center of my God- ruled universe, my favorite person to spend my time with, my soulmate, my husband, my brother in Christ, and the love of my life.  I’ve loved every minute of this journey we’ve shared and it’s just getting started!  There’s no one I would rather “do life” with!  I love him with all my heart and soul, plus whatever is left after those have been exhausted.  “More than all the words, in all the books, in all the world.”

I’d love to hear your story, too!  Facebook  Twitter  Pinterest  Instagram YouTube Tumblr

****These photos are all from 2013.

2013-01-04 18.17.28

My hubby and my son, winter 2013

My sweet girl, Seaira, winter 2013

My sweet girl, Seaira, winter 2013

Payton, age 4, fall 2013

Payton, age 4, fall 2013

20130605_105013

Summer 2013 at the library

2013-02-25 14.55.15

My honey is a goof ball!

2013-05-16 18.06.09

My son Josh and I, summer 2013

2013-04-17 10.47.53

Payton, spring 2013

2013-06-02 13.45.00

My littlest ones, summer 2013

15 thoughts on “More about Scully

  1. That was beautiful Lauren, it kind of brought tears to me eyes. I love how much you love your husband because so much of what you wrote is how I feel as well. I know that both of us have had hard times in different ways in our lifes and I feel like that will always connect us to eachother. I am so very happy for you that you are happy (and a busy little mommy). You mean so very much to me and I miss you. XOXO.

    • Hi Scully. Not many people I know can open themselves up to the world as you have and I have enjoyed getting to know a bit about you through your blog. Thank you for following mine.

      You say that divorce is not a word for you. I totally understand. I said the same thing for years – 20 in fact. When you have a husband that loves and considers you his equal – even when challenges get tough they are more likely to be resolved and you both grow through the experience. But remember that not all men or women are like that. Some struggle for years trying to work at their marriage but there are many factors that contribute to a broken relationship. Both people have to try and not just one. When one partner is selfish and inflexible and refuses to compromise, he or she is difficult to live with. People get married for different reasons but whatever the reason, it takes two. Both have to want to make it work and both have to give. Sometimes, unfortunately, divorce becomes a reality because of selfishness and sometimes even Jesus can’t help those that don’t want to be helped. Sometimes divorce is the only way to save yourself and your children from a life of tyranny and misery.

      Anyway, it renews my hope in love and in marriage when I see couples like you successful in it. Keep going strong. Cheers. Toni.

      • Toni,
        Thank you for your kind words and I look forward to more from your blog!
        I understand that divorce happens, and it is no one to judge you and anyone else on those circumstances. There are situations where a person will not change or budge…things happen. God bless anyone who has lived through a divorce.

        Jesus delivers people as individuals. He doesn’t fix marriages, he fixes people. Sometimes people have unyielding hearts.
        God bless you and thank you for commenting 🙂

  2. Pingback: Got the Blogging Blues? Ready to give up? Here’s what to do! | Scully Speaks

  3. What a fun outlook on life you have…and matched by a fun-looking family!

    Thanks for following Lessons by Heart and leading me here. May the Lord bless your labor with an abundant harvest!

    In Christ,
    Tami
    \o/

  4. Pingback: The Plight of the Step Parent | Scully Speaks

    • Thank you! I don’t enjoy EVERYTHING about my life, but I try to find the good even in the worst circumstances. I can’t tell you how tough life has been for me and for my family over the past few years. God has a plan for everything and I trust that when bad things happen, that He will handle it and guide me through it. God doesn’t make life easier, he just helps our hearts understand the reasons things happen while carrying us through the parts that are too hard to walk through alone. 🙂
      And you’re welcome for the follow! i look forward to reading more from “awsomem”

  5. Pingback: Contributors

Any thoughts? Please Comment!

