Scully Speaks on Tastykake® Kandy Bar Kakes

Tasty Bar Kandy Bar Kake S'mores flavor

Tasty Bar Kandy Bar Kake S’mores flavor

I first heard of TastyKake in 2008 when I was reading “One for the Money” by Janet Evanovich.  At the time, I learned that TastyKake is a brand of pastry style treat similar to what Little Debbie makes.  Tasty Kake brand wasn’t sold in Texas at the time (or maybe I wasn’t looking in the right place?) and I began to grow curious about these little delights.  In the book, One for the Money, Stephanie Plum and the other characters  talk about TastyKake as though it was sent directly from Heaven to rescue anyone who has a serious sweet tooth.

Eventually I gave up looking for TastyKake brand snacks and decided that maybe they were only  sold in the northern states or something.  I began to think that TastyKake was a mystical product that only ficticious characters who chase down criminals while tripping over their stilletos get to eat.

Last year, while walking into my local grocery store, I spotted Stephanie Plum  riding on a unicorn….eating a TastyKake!  As funny as that sounds, I really was very surprised to start seeing actual TastyKake products on the shelves at the store.  There were many different types, and I wasn’t sure where to start, so I decided that I would buy some after looking over my old Stephanie Plum novels.

One day last May, I lucked out!  Only a month or two after spotting my sought after treats in the store, I received my 2013 Spring Fever Vox Box from Influenster.  Inside my box, was my very own TastyKake Kandy Bar Kake to try! Better yet, it was in S’mores flavor!  Who doesn’t love when chocolate, graham cracker and marshellow all get together for a cake making party…using themselves as the ingredients of course?!

The first thing I decided to try out of the Vox Box was my TastyKake Kandy Bar Kake (I had to get to it before my 4 kids!).  The outside was coated in chocolate.  Some of the pieces of coating were coming off, and I attributed that to the journey the box took across country to get to me.

20130515_215716Hiding underneath the chocolate coating were two pieces of cake (sandwiched together), and filled with marshmellow creme.  The top was sprinkled with graham cracker crumbs.  As I bit into it, it started to sort of fall apart (from traveling in the box) but it did not take away from how good this little slice of yummyness was!  It was VERY rich and sweet though, so if you don’t have a sweet tooth, than this is not for you.  If you’re like me though, and love dessert, than you will want to go pick up a box of these.  They cost $4.49 and you get 5 individually wrapped snacks per box.  The available flavors are York Peppermint, Hershey’s S’mores, and Reese’s Peanut Butter.  I plan on buying the York kind next.  Here’s a photo of the available types (I do not own this picture):

d24d9e2be977f4d42b44c2168ac52c1402f53da4

You can visit the TastyKake website here.

Like TastyKake on Facebook or Follow them on Twitter.

Correct Product Info can be found here on influenster.

Have you ever had TastyKake before? What is your favorite type?  If you have tried Kandy Bar Kakes, what is your favorite type?

Please comment below and follow me!

UPDATE!! 8/6/13: I finally got to try the York Peppermint flavor of these and OMG it is my FAVORITE new dessert!  Definitely the best flavor of pastry cake I’ve had in a LONG time!!

Find me on Facebook  Twitter  Pinterest  Instagram YouTube Tumblr

I received this product complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.

wpid-voxbox-blogimage-popup2.png

Any thoughts? Please Comment!

