My Take: Snap out of spiritual slump with Lent

Why you can celebrate and be a part of Lent, even if you are not Catholic.

CNN Belief Blog

Editor’s Note: Mark Batterson is lead pastor at the National Community Church in Washington, D.C. He is the author of “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day,” “Wild Goose Chase” and “Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity.”

By Mark Batterson, Special to CNN

When I was a seminary student, my wife and I went to downtown Chicago for a taping of “The Oprah Winfrey Show.” When the producer came out to prep us for the show, I was embarrassed for him because he had dirt on his forehead. Didn’t he look in the mirror that morning? Why didn’t someone tell him? My embarrassment for him turned into embarrassment for myself when I discovered it was Ash Wednesday and the dirt on his forehead was actually ashes that symbolized the day of repentance that begins Lent.

I grew up going to a wide…

View original post 884 more words

6 thoughts on “My Take: Snap out of spiritual slump with Lent

  1. Growing up in a contemporary protestant church (the same denomination as Mark Batterson) I never heard of Lent. To be honest I feel robbed from a deep faith tradition. Here is another cool article on why you don’t have to be catholic to celebrate Lent. http://wp.me/p4lHcL-4S Keep speaking Scully!

  2. I’m so glad you re-blogged this. The Presbyterian church we attended for 10 years always had an Ash Wednesday service, and though we didn’t Have to give anything up, we did. It’s been very meaningful to meditate and make Lenten sacrifices. Now that we’ve moved and our new church doesn’t do that, we are still following our own Lenten practices. I hope many people read this!

Any thoughts? Please Comment!

