Why doesn’t God answer my prayer?

This post features  the new song, “Trust in You” by Lauren Daigle (Performance Video and Lyrics)

Most of this week I’ve been listening to breakout Christian artist, Lauren Daigle‘s songs on YouTube.

One of my favorites (although she has so many songs I’m into right now) is “Trust in You.” Here’s the video if you want a quick listen:

(Lyrics to “Trust in You” are at the end of this post)

I love the message this song brings. So often we ask God to affect a situation in our lives. Sometimes it’s a dream, sometimes it’s a struggle, and often it’s something completely outside our control. This song is a declaration about loving God, following Him, and seeking His ways no matter what trial we are going through. We might spend weeks or even years praying for something, and hear nothing but silence from God. It’s completely frustrating sometimes. It’s hard not to ask God “why?” and to just be patient and abide in His loving grace. Like a small child grows to trust his father, we must allow our faith to grow and strengthen by trusting Him.

That might be hard for you. Maybe your father wasn’t trustworthy, or loving. Maybe he was never there or abandoned you. Perhaps, he put his pill bottle or his flask above you. Maybe he even harmed you physically, mentally, and/or emotionally.  It’s a serious mental stretch for you to imagine a Heavenly Father who truly understands your pain and wants to be there to comfort you. A Father who treasures you and pursues you whole heartedly sounds like a nice children’s story; fun to read, but filled with fluff and fibs. It must be painful to be open to the possibility that you have a Father in Heaven who is already familiar with all your ways and loves you tremendously.

It’s absolutely true though.

He has loved you since before you were born. He knows the number of hairs on your head and He was there, knitting together every piece of you. (Matthew 10:30, Psalm 139:13)

Regardless of what your earthly father is like; if you have an amazing dad who will never let you down, if your dad is no longer here on earth, or if your dad was not good to you, take heart, God knowsHe sees. He cares about your loneliness and heartache. He doesn’t wish for anyone to have suffering or pain.

Psalms 56:8 says, “You have kept count of my tossings; put my tears in your bottle. Are they not in your record?”

He keeps all our tears in a bottle. Your hurts are God’s hurts. If you’ve ever wondered if God knows you are hurting, HE DOES. Whenever you have cried out and asked where He is, when you feel like you don’t know what to do and God doesn’t care and isn’t listening- know this. He does care. He IS listening. He is guiding you, and loving you. You are His greatest treasure. He will never leave you or forsake you. YOU ARE NOT ALONE.

Our God is a good, good God. He sent His one and only son for YOU. Not for a prettied up, perfect, future version of you. For the you right now, in the midst of all the stuggles and heartache.

Trust in Him. Keep praying. Keep seeking Him. Don’t give up. Everything will work out for good. HE has promised us this, and it is a good and true promise.

 

(Originally I typed these up because I noticed that there aren’t many pages with lyrics to this song.

So! Here they are for you all nice and typed up. Feel free to copy and paste to your heart’s content!)

 

Trust in You by Lauren Daigle

Letting go of every single dream,

I lay each one down at your feet.

Every moment of my wandering,

Never changes what You see.

 

I’ve tried to win this war, I confess.

My hands are weary, I need Your rest.

Mighty Warrior, King of the Fight,

No matter what I face, you’re by my side.

(Chorus)

When You don’t move the mountains, I’m needing You to move.

When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through.

When You don’t give the answers, as I cry out to You,

I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You.

I will trust in You.

 

Truth is, You know what tomorrow brings.

There’s not a day ahead You have not seen.

So in all things be my life and breath.

I want what You want, Lord and nothing less.

 

When You don’t move the mountains, I’m needing You to move.

When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through.

When You don’t give the answers, as I cry out to You,

I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You.

I will trust in You.

(Bridge)

You are my strength and comfort,

You are my steady hand,

You are my firm foundation, the Rock on which I stand.

Your ways are always higher, Your plans are always good,

There’s not a place I’ll go, You’ve not already stood.

 

When You don’t move the mountains, I’m needing You to move.

When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through.

When You don’t give the answers, as I cry out to You,

I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You.

I will trust in You.

(Repeat chorus)

 

Lauren Daigle’s new album releases April 14 (eeee!) and you can pre-order it here on her website.

If you want to know more about Lauren, check out the bio on here website here or you can read about her here on the MTVArtists website.

Please email me here or send me a facebook message here if you’re in need of prayer. Big or small, God cares about it all, so don’t be shy!

Facebook  Twitter  Pinterest  Instagram Email

4 thoughts on “Why doesn’t God answer my prayer?

Any thoughts? Please Comment!

