A Promise in the Dark

It’s around 10 pm on a weeknight. After a long day of keeping up with the house, chasing four crazy kids, managing finances, running errands, and driving everyone around, the day is finally over. The only responsibility left on my list is letting out the dogs for the night. I live out in the country, and without a flashlight I can’t even see my hand in front of my face. I grab my cellphone (flashlight app!), leash up my bulldog, and head out into the yard. As I step down the steps, I let out a sigh of relief. No cellphone flashlight (which typically brings lots of swarming insects) will be required tonight. It is absolutely beautiful outside. I can see everything around me clearly! The full moon is shining so brightly, even a nearby field is visible.

What’s so strange about the moon’s beauty, is its’ borrowed brightness (from the sun). On its own, its just a rock in the sky influencing gravity.

Everyday on my smartphone around 8:20 AM the Dictionary.com app on my phone goes off. The “word of the day” is one of my favorite parts of the app. A couple weeks ago, the word “moonbow” was the randomly selected word.

A moonbow is a rainbow created from light reflected off of the moon.

moonbow

Photo cred: Bluenred.com

My initial reaction was how amazing and beautiful this hidden bit of creation is! What a tucked away piece of art God has given us!

Genesis 9:17 says: Then God said to Noah, “Yes, this rainbow is the sign of the covenant I am confirming with all the creatures on earth.” God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant that I have established between me and all flesh that is on the earth.”

God created a rainbow as a promise to us that He would never again destroy humanity through a massive earth-wide flood. God has made countless promises to us in the bible about who we are, who He is, and what we are to Him. He’s made promises about what He will and won’t do, and He’s made promises about what we can expect from Him. He’s unchanging and beautiful in His promise keeping.

What I take from this moonbow is one truth: God’s promises are beautiful, good, and true in the light AND in the dark. A dark season in your life doesn’t disqualify you from receiving His grace, mercy, and unconditional love. His promises are without error, full of beauty, and trustworthy.

Isaiah 55:11 (NIV) says:

So is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Another translation of Isaiah 55:11 (NLT) says:

In the same way, the promise that I make does not return to me, having accomplished nothing. No, it is realized as I desire and is fulfilled as I intend.”

When He promises it, it’s true!

When we are in our darkest storms, His promises are hard to believe and even harder to see. A moonbow is the same way. It can be hard to see, and hard to believe it’s real (I trust you’ll be googling “moonbow” after reading this). Dark times call for remembering God’s promises, seeking them out in scripture, and holding on to them tightly. Stop doubting His goodness, and start holding onto His promises.

Have you ever seen a moonbow? Ever heard of this phenomena? Come by my facebook page and let me know what you think! Or just leave a comment below.

Facebook  Twitter  Pinterest  Instagram Email

11 thoughts on “A Promise in the Dark

  1. I had never even heard of a “moonbow” before… and my ‘spell-check’ doesn’t recognize it either haha. Thanks for sharing! I definitely will be looking for these more often now.

      • Do you think that maybe God would allow the rainbows to appear even in the night because there is still hope in the midst of darkness? I don’t know if it is only me, but it seems like the hours of trial are most excruciating in the middle of the night.

      • Oh yes! Definitely! I think that those night time hours are so hard bc its the time of day when we are most alone and our world is most quiet? I’m sure the enemy delights most greatly in stealing our rest away worrying over things and condemning ourselves even though Jesus said It is Finished.

Any thoughts? Please Comment!

